Senior Blazers: 73 Boys Renew Christ School Tradition

Senior Blazers: 73 Boys Renew Christ School Tradition

The Class of 2019 is one of the largest senior classes to ever attend Christ School.

For those 73 boys though, Wednesday's rite of passage was no different than years past. All the anticipation bubbles up until the moment that a Greenie slips on his Senior Blazer for the first time.

Hunter Embler '19 and Juan Mantilla '19 were among the first to pick up their blazers from Dean of Students Drew Hyche '93 in Wetmore Hall.

"It means a lot to me, especially since I've been here five years," Hunter said. "It feels like a privilege."

"It's something I've looked forward to since I first got here," Juan said. "It's a milestone, and it's always been something extra that the seniors have. It's crazy that it's finally here."

Seniors, and only seniors, are allowed to wear the blazers all the way through Commencement Weekend for their class. The green jackets, with the Christ School shield sewn into the front, are tailored to fit each Greenie.

Christ School's Class of 2019 will walk across Yard A for graduation on May 19, 2019, and are in alphabetical order: Trey Austin, T.J. Bell, Marcus Berger, Doug Bland, Christian Blanks, Hagan Brooks, Gordon Brown, Hale Caffery, Will Clarke, Keyvaun Cobb, Hase Cooper, Nick Dee, William Dodenhoff, Jacob Dowler, Will DuBose, Spencer Dyer, Logan Easler, Hunter Embler, Hutson Ford, Sidney Gibbs, Wyatt Gildea, Mac Gortney, Zack Grella, Zack Grinde, Tyler Haldeman, Brad Halvorsen, Jack Harrison, Evan Hoyle, George Janvier, Jay Kelligrew, Andrew King, Weller Kreimer, Corey Lavinder, Max LeCroy, James Lilly, James Lopez, Ben Lowry, Hunter Macomber, Coles Manning, Juan Mantilla, Thomas May, Kevin McCarthy, Will McNichols, James Murphy, Sean Murphy, Ross Oakley, Drake Oliver, Pierce Parker, Ted Peterson, Hank Pritchard, Charles Redhead, Kaedin Robinson, Borden Sasnett, Clay Schoettelkotte, Kobi Selby, Eddy Sherman, West Shuler, Thomas Smoots, Kevin Snyder, Brandon Stone, Andy Su, Peyton Surface, Hunter Tarves, Otto Thom, Charles Thompson, Kojack Thompson, Chad Treadway, Cameron Von Strolley, Michael Wang, Alex Xu, Hance Zhang, Peter Zhou, and Eric Zhou.