Fri, 05/19/2023 - 4:36am

Individuals, Teams Feted on Athletic Awards Night

Jack Staley '23 won the Bill Sewell Hustle Award on Thursday night.

A new tradition served as the unofficial start to Christ School's 123rd Commencement Weekend on Thursday night.

Athletic Awards Night celebrated the peak performance of Christ School sports – fall, winter, and spring seasons – with an evening full of individual and team honors.

The boys were in formal dress for the year-end banquet, the first in recent history for the Athletic Department. Concluding the 90-minute program in Mebane Fieldhouse was the presentation of the Big 5 Awards:

  • Bill Sewell Hustle Award: Jack Staley ’23.
  • Pat James Athletic Award: Cayden Jones ’24.
  • Jeff Miles Resilience Award: Emanuel Richards ’23.
  • Knighton Sportsmanship Award: Anthony Robinson ’23.
  • Senior Athletic Cup: Rocky Hansen ’23.

SPORTS AWARDS (Most Valuable Player and Most Improved Player)


MVP: Carter Compton ’24 and Brendan Regan ’24.

MIP: Wells Edwards ’25.


MVP: Rocky Hansen ’23.

MIP: Eyob Gill ’24.


MVP: Khalil Conley ’24.

MIP: Vincent Lytle ’24.

Outstanding Lineman: Josh Harrison ’24.

Courage Award: Kaden Brown ’24.


MVP: Emanuel Richards ’23.

MIP: Anthony Robinson ’23.


MVP: John Barton ’25.

MIP: Bradley Campbell ‘24


MVP: Michael Drendel ’23.

MIP: Burnam DuBose ’26.


MVP: Rocky Hansen ’23.

MIP: Noah Graham ’23.


MVP: Aiden Schook ’23.

MIP: Cole Boyer ’24.


MVP: Matthew Hammel ’23.

MIP: Jake Gravley ’24.


MVP: Jamal Hutchison ’23.

MIP: David Gaines ’26.

Every all-conference athlete in the Carolinas Athletic Association or Big South Conference, and all-state selection in the N.C. Independent Schools Athletic Association was acknowledged.

Basketball players Keenan Wilkins ’24 (2,000 points) and Jamari Briggs ’24 (1,000 points) were given commemorative balls for reaching scoring milestones during the Greenies’ NCISAA 4-A state championship season.